Source: CVDaily Feed

LOGAN, Utah — Utah State head football coach Matt Wells was selected as the Coach of the Year at the Fourth Annual Governor’s State of Sport Awards, which were held Tuesday night at EnergySolutions Arena in Salt Lake City.

The State of Sport Awards celebrates Utah’s sports industry and honors excellence in high school, amateur, collegiate, Olympic and professional sports for the 2014 calendar year. Various sports media and industry leaders throughout the state selected the categories and nominees. Fans through an online voting process chose the winners in each category.

In just his second year at the helm, Wells guided the Aggies to a 10-4 overall record in 2014, marking just the second time in school history that Utah State has won double-digit games in a single season.

The Aggies capped the 2014 campaign with a 21-6 victory over UTEP in the Gildan New Mexico Bowl, marking the third straight year Utah State has won a bowl game.

Wells already ranks as the 11th winningest coach in school history with 19 wins, which is a school record for a coach in his first two seasons. His 67.9 winning percentage ranks second all-time in school history with a minimum of 15 games behind John Ralston (1959-62), who won 73.3 percent of his games with a 31-11-1 record.

Utah State finished in third place in the Mountain Division of the Mountain West Conference with a 6-2 record in 2014. The Aggies captured the Mountain Division title in Wells’ first season as head coach.

Former Utah State head coach Gary Andersen was tabbed the Coach of the Year at the 2013 State of Sports after leading the Aggies to the Western Athletic Conference title and 11-2 overall record in 2012. USU capped that season with a dominating 45-9 win over Toledo in the Famous Idaho Potato Bowl.

Fans can follow the Aggie football program at or on Facebook at Utah State Football, as well as on Instagram at Fans can also follow the USU athletic programs at or on Facebook at Utah State University Athletics.

– USU –


High School Male Athlete – Britain Covey, Timpview

High School Female Athlete – Riley Lyman, Enterprise

College Male Athlete – Tyler Haws, BYU

College Female Athlete – Mary Beth Lofgren, Utah

Professional Male Athlete – Kyle Beckerman, Real Salt Lake

Professional Female Athlete – Noelle Pikus-Pace, USA Bobsled & Skeleton

Coach of the Year – Matt Wells, Utah State

Team of the Year – Utah, football

Event or Highlight of the Year – Taysom Hill Hurdles Texas