SALT LAKE CITY — President Russell M. Nelson of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints announced 15 new temples. The new locations were announced during the final session of the Church’s general conference Sunday afternoon.

In a prerecorded message, President Nelson promised church members, “Nothing will help you more to hold fast to the iron rod than worshipping in the temple as regularly as your circumstances permit. Nothing will protect you more as you encounter the world’s mists of darkness. Nothing will bolster your testimony of the Lord Jesus Christ and His Atonement or help you understand God’s magnificent plan more. Nothing will soothe your spirit more during times of pain. Nothing will open the heavens more. Nothing! The temple is the gateway to the greatest blessings God has for each of us.”

General Conference April 2024

Conference attendees listen to a prerecorded message from President Russell M. Nelson during the Sunday afternoon session of the Church’s General Conference, April 7, 2024. (Photo: The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints)

Members of the Church consider temples to be the house of the Lord and the most sacred places of worship on the earth. The primary purpose of temples is for faithful members of the Church to receive peace, inspiration, and spiritual power as they enter into sacred agreements with God in His holy house.

The 15 temple locations included:

• Uturoa, French Polynesia

• Chihuahua, Mexico

• Florianópolis, Brazil

• Rosario, Argentina

• Edinburgh, Scotland

• Brisbane Australia South Area

• Victoria, British Columbia

• Yuma, Arizona

• Houston Texas South Area

• Des Moines, Iowa

• Cincinnati, Ohio

• Honolulu, Hawaii

• West Jordan, Utah

• Lehi, Utah

• Maracaibo, Venezuela

Source link