LOGAN – One day following the release of the media vote for Mountain West all-conference awards, the coach’s vote – which counts as the official selection for the awards – handed the Aggies four different “of the year” distinctions and three all-conference honors.

Utah State coach Danny Sprinkle gestures during the second half of the team’s NCAA college basketball game against Fresno State in Fresno, Calif., Tuesday, Feb. 27, 2024. (AP Photo/Gary Kazanjian)

Great Osobor earned the most hardware of any Aggie, being named the Mountain West’s Player of the Year and Newcomer of the Year along with the obligatory First Team selection. He finished top five in the Mountain West in six different statistical categories — including points, rebounds, field goal percentage and steals — and top 15 in four others.

Danny Sprinkle was named the Steve Fisher Coach of the Year, an obvious choice after leading the Aggies from a projected ninth-place finish to a regular season conference title.

Josh Uduje earned Co-Sixth Man of the Year, marking the second straight season where an Aggie earned the distinction. He led all sixth man candidates in scoring, averaging 8.7 points per game.

Along with Osobor, Darius Brown earned a spot on the First Team All-MW, making the Aggies the only team with two first-team selections. Brown led the league in minutes played per game during conference play and also ranked top 10 in three other statistical categories, assists, steals and assist-to-turnover ratio.

Ian Martinez landed a spot on the Honorable Mention list, ranking tied for first in the conference in free throw percentage and ranking top 20 in five other statistical categories, including blocks, 3-pointers and points.

2023-24 All-Mountain West Team – Coaches


  • Tyson Degenhart, Jr., F, Boise State
  • Isaiah Stevens, Gr., G, Colorado State
  • Jaedon LeDee, Sr., F, San Diego State
  • Darius Brown II, Gr, G, Utah State
  • Great Osobor, Jr., W, Utah State


  • O’Mar Stanley, Jr., F, Boise State
  • Kenan Blackshear, Gr., G, Nevada
  • Jarod Lucas, Gr., G, Nevada
  • Donovan Dent, So., G, New Mexico
  • JT Toppin, Fr., F, New Mexico
  • Dedan Thomas Jr., Fr., G, UNLV


  • Nique Clifford, Sr., G, Colorado State
  • Nick Davidson, So., F, Nevada
  • Jaelen House, Gr., G, New Mexico
  • Keylan Boone, Sr., F, UNLV


  • Tré Coleman, Sr., F, Nevada
  • Jaelen House, Gr., G, New Mexico
  • Lamont Butler, Sr., G, San Diego State
  • Luis Rodriguez, Sr., G, UNLV
  • Darius Brown II, Gr., G, Utah State


  • Chibuzo Agbo, Sr., G, Boise State
  • Max Rice, Sr., G, Boise State
  • Lamont Butler, Sr., G San Diego State
  • MJ Amey, Jr., G, San José State
  • Kalib Boone, Sr., F, UNLV
  • Ian Martinez, Sr., G, Utah State
  • Sam Griffin, Sr., G, Wyoming

Player of the Year: Great Osobor, Jr., W, Utah State

Defensive Player of the Year: Lamont Butler, Sr., G, San Diego State

Newcomer of the Year: Great Osobor, Jr., W, Utah State

Co-Sixth Man of the Year: Josh Uduje, Jr., G, Utah State | Mustapha Amzil, Sr., F, New Mexico

Co-Freshman of the Year: Dedan Thomas Jr., UNLV | JT Toppin, F, New Mexico

Steve Fisher Coach of the Year: Danny Sprinkle, Utah State

Source link