Source: CVDaily Feed

FAR HILLS, N.J. – The United States Golf Association (USGA) today announced Keith Hansen, of Providence, Utah, a 27-year member of two USGA committees, as the recipient of the 2016 Joe Dey Award.

The USGA has presented the Joe Dey Award annually since 1996 in recognition of an individual’s meritorious service to the game as a volunteer. It is named for Joseph C. Dey Jr., who served as the USGA’s executive director from 1934 to 1969, before serving as the first commissioner of the PGA Tour.

Hansen has served on the USGA’s Regional Affairs Committee and Mid-Amateur Committee since 1989. During that time, he has worked as a Rules official at more than 80 USGA championships, including 10 U.S. Opens. When not working as a Rules official, Hansen has also volunteered his time and energy to numerous state and regional championships and qualifying events. He received the Ike Grainger Award, which honors 25 years of service to the USGA, in 2013.

Hansen has been a valuable asset and selfless contributor to golf in his home state. A 2015 inductee into the Utah Golf Hall of Fame, he served nine years on the Utah Golf Association board of directors, including two years as president. He has also served on the board of directors of the Utah Golf Foundation and The First Tee of Utah.

“Keith’s commitment to the USGA serves as an inspiration to the thousands of volunteers who comprise the backbone of our Association, and who dedicate countless hours to the game we love,” said Tom O’Toole Jr., USGA president. “We are honored to recognize Keith’s important role in embodying our mission, and promoting a stronger connection to golf through selfless service.”

“I was shocked to get the call from Tom O’Toole,” said Hansen. “I have always believed that individuals should donate their time and volunteer for worthy causes. You receive more than you give when you volunteer. Through the years, I have met many past recipients of the Joe Dey Award, and I am honored to be included in that select group.”

Hansen will receive the Joe Dey Award at the USGA’s Annual Meeting and Service Awards in San Diego, on Feb. 6, 2016. The Service Awards Dinner honors the people whose dedication and outstanding accomplishments have made an important contribution to the USGA and its mission to serve the game. In addition to the Joe Dey Award, the Ike Grainger Award, the USGA Green Section Award and the Herbert Warren Wind Book Award will be presented at the Service Awards Dinner.