LOGAN — New fire restrictions are in effect for nine northern Utah counties. The limitations begin Monday, July 1.

Officials with the Utah Department of Natural Resources announced Sunday that “all unincorporated Private and State lands in Box Elder, Cache, Rich, Weber, Tooele, Utah, Salt Lake, Davis, & Morgan Counties” will be placed under stage one fire restrictions.

Map of Northern Utah Fire Restrictions

Officials added that “incorporated cities and towns are not included.”

Stage one fire restrictions were specified as:

  • “No open fires of any kind except within established public facilities in improved campgrounds or picnic areas. -OR- In permanently constructed fire pits at private homes where running water is present.
  • Smoking, except within an enclosed vehicle, trailer, or building, a developed recreation site, or while stopped in an area that is paved or free from dry vegetation.
  • Discharging or using any fireworks, tracer ammunition, or other pyrotechnic devices, including exploding targets.
  • Cutting, welding, or grinding metal in areas of dry vegetation.
  • Operating a motorcycle, chainsaw, ATV, or other small internal combustion engine without an approved and working spark arrestor.”

The restrictions started as areas of Cache Valley saw less than a quarter inch of moisture during the month of June and several record high temperatures. The National Weather Service is calling for hot and dry conditions to continue.

For more information, visit the Utah Fire Info website.

Source link

Leave a Reply