CACHE COUNTY – The only contested races settled by local voting in the Republican Primary on June 25 were for two seats on the Cache County Council.

Those contests were between incumbent Council Chair David Erickson and challenger Jon-David Jorgensen for the North District seat and incumbent Council Member Nolan Gunnell and challenger Devron Andersen for the South District seat.

Both incumbents ended the primary night with solid victories.

According to preliminary results released by Cache County about two hours after local polls closed, Erickson bested Jorgensen by a margin of nearly 700 votes, with the incumbent winning 62 percent of the nearly 2,800 ballots cast, compared to 37 percent for Jorgensen.

In a similar outcome in the South District race, Gunnell claimed 63 percent of about 2,300 ballots cast, compared to 36 percent for Andersen.

All other county candidates were running unopposed for their various positions.

They included Keegan Garrity running for the Logan 1 seat on the Cache County Council and incumbent Council Member Barbara Tidwell up of re-election to the Logan 2 seat on the council.

Other incumbent officer holders running for re-election or candidates running unopposed are Brett Robinson for Cache County Assessor; Taylor Sorensen for Cache County Attorney; Matthew Funk for Cache County Auditor; Bryson Behm for Cache County Clerk; Tenille Johnson for Cache County Recorder; and Craig McCallister for County Treasurer.

Source link

Leave a Reply